fokibuster.blogg.se

Sour cream and onion chips
Sour cream and onion chips






sour cream and onion chips

Slice your chips thin (if you happen to have amazing knife skills) or use a mandoline. Decide if you want the peel on or off for your chips (we chose to keep it on). Seasoning of choice (see below for Sour Cream & Onion and Sweet & Spice Recipes)įill a large bowl with cold water and add in 1 TBS salt, stir the water. OXO was generous to provide Samantha with a 3 piece set for her potato chip making experience as well as provide another set for a giveaway. Samantha and I are huge fans of OXO and use their products in our cooking every day. Oh and "Dear Lay's Potato Chip People.I KNEW I was right when I said you needed a Sweet & Spicy Potato Chip last year! The Sweet & Spicy Chips were ridiculously good!! Disclosure: This was not a sponsored post.

sour cream and onion chips

Once they are finished the pride they have on a task accomplished and the creation of something they can enjoy and even better - share or gift is - priceless and a life-skill they will never forget! And the 2 best.Taste testing and proudly handing out the finished chips!Īnd of course clean up.getting kids in the kitchen show's them planning and follow through.Fill the bowl to soak the potatoes with water and a bit of salt.You lay out the safety rules and they will follow.

SOUR CREAM AND ONION CHIPS HOW TO

Help slice the potatoes, teach them how to use an easy and effective hand-held mandoline like this one from OXO.Here are ways kids can help make Homemade Potato Chips: However watching what happens at a safe viewing spot is a delicious science lesson! We almost always use our deep fryer for frying anything, but for this I wanted her to "see" the process and transformation. Chips however are not something she can yet do on her own (at the age of 9) the oil is just to dangerous for little helpers. As you know, she helps a lot in the kitchen and prepares a number of dishes on her own. Samantha did such a great job listening to what we were going to do. Next time I make them I want to make a salt and vinegar chip for my cousin.that's her favorite! See you next time! I think kids can be a big help when you want to make potato chips BUT they need to stay away from the pan when the potatoes go in and are cooking - it is dangerous.ĭo you want to try and make your own potato chips? She taught me how to use it and taught me how to use it safely but she really didn't like me using it since it was old and not that good for kids. We started slicing the cucumbers and it was taking FOREVER when all of a sudden my mom said "oh wait, let me get my mandoline"! After that it went super-fast. I helped her make 62 pounds of her Pulled Pork and then we made 25 pounds of her Sweet and Spicy Cucumbers (they are SO yummy). I learned about using a mandoline because my mom is in charge of doing the father-daughter dance at school each year and this year she decided to do a Luau theme. You can try to slice your potatoes very thin when you want to make chips but using a mandolin makes it SO much easier!! Have you ever used a mandoline before? When you use a mandoline, slicing is easy and fast.so fast you just can't believe it! So I knew I wanted to make them first and eat as many as I could!

sour cream and onion chips

I think everyone loves potato chips (right?) my favorite is Sour Cream and Onion! My mom doesn't let me get them very much because she says that they have too many ingredients she can't pronounce on the bag. Guess what the first thing you need is? Yup.a potato!īut first you have to decide what flavor you want to make.








Sour cream and onion chips